Review Blog

Nov 20 2018

The top secret undercover notes of Buttons McGinty by Rhys Darby

cover image

Scholastic, 2018. ISBN 9781775434979
(Age: 7+) Riefglum Talent Night - let your star shine! Roll up! Roll up! The shining star of madcap mayhem RHYS DARBY delivers out-of-this-world absurdity with his first hilarious mystery-comedy book for kids! 'Crack the crazy Morse codes and unleash the action with bogus buddies, a burly bigfoot and McGinty's mission to find his parents, who are pronounced missing, presumed missing!'
Darby has certainly hit the wants of the market with this book for children aged 7 and up. With the addition of graphics including speech bubbles and lists, this book will appeal to the lovers of graphic novels who enjoy a funny read. Readers will enjoy following the hair-raising adventures of Buttons McGinty and enter into the amazing world of DNA manipulation. With moving bookcases, secret agendas and agents and throw in rats with special abilities, humour is at the forefront of the book. Like all good books from this genre, trust is an issue and sadly a life lesson that not everyone can be trusted. This will be a popular read for fans of books such as Tom Gates and Diary of a Wimpy Kid and suitable for ages 7 and up.
Kathryn Schumacher

BUY IT ON booktopia
Archived Blog Entries