Review Blog

Jul 14 2017

Hamish and the gravity burp by Danny Wallace

cover image

Simon and Schuster, 2017. ISBN 9781471147128
(Age: 7+) The bright cover and illustrations covering the paper edges promises humour and fun, and they certainly deliver this for young children!
The story surrounds Hamish Ellerby, who begins by finding his family stuck to the roof through the strange happenings that is a 'gravity burp'. The whole town of Starkley is affected and obviously causes lots of questions and a then big town meeting.
It becomes up to Hamish and his friends (who are all in a gang called the PDF - Pause Defence Force) to save their town once again.
After some research I found that this book is part of a well established series, where Hamish and the PDF try to save Starkely (and the world) from Alien invasion. This made sense as although Danny Wallace gives information to the reader to allow this to be an interesting stand alone book, I feel that reading this series in order would be very beneficial to getting to know the long list of characters.
The story is consistently funny, with toilet/gross humour throughout keeping even the most reluctant reader or listener entertained.
My favourite character of the bunch was Madame Cous Cous (who couldn't love that name!) and her sweet shop. She is always doing something amusing like nailing down all the sweets in the shop, and through the wonderful illustrations I was able to form a great visual image to compliment the story.
This book would suit readers who love Roald Dahl and David Walliams, as it is clever, humorous and filled with little tidbits (like the flick-a-book illustrations!!) to delight every reader.
Suitable for readers or listeners from 7+
Lauren Fountain

Archived Blog Entries
Latest News
Book Week 2017 ideas - Escape to Everywhere
Speech Pathology shortlist 2017
2017 CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals
2017 Branford Boase Award
2017 UKLA Book Awards
Little Rebels Children's Book Award 2017
10th UK Waterstones Children's Laureate
UK Children's Book Award 2017
Laugh Out Loud Awards 2017 shortlist
2017 Locus Awards Winners
Environment Award for Children's Literature shortlist
Miles Franklin longlist 2017

ReadPlus Features
Print similar authors bookmark
Read similar authors
How to find lesson plans
Sample theme animation

Promote Reading
Staff holiday reading list 2016
South Australian Christian Schools Conference 2016 - Library Displays
Display calendars
Value of School Libraries
Library, Reading development and the Internet
Free Rights of the Reader Poster
Reviews: Author index
Bookmark and poster templates