Review Blog

Jan 30 2017

Nothing short of dying: A Clyde Barr novel by Erik Storey

cover image Simon and Schuster, 2016. ISBN 9781471146848
(Age: 15+) Thriller. Violence. Clyde Barr is an ex-mercenary drifter who answers the call of his sister Jen when she asks for help. All Clyde knows is that she is caught in the trap of a drug king, whereabouts unknown. On the trail of the killers, he encounters desperate men and dangers.
Endorsements on the cover by Lee Child and Jeffrey Deaver lead the reader to believe that Nothing short of dying will be a thriller in the vein of Jack Reacher and Deaver's heroes. Clyde is a hard man, hiding out in the wilderness when he gets the frantic phone call from his sister, but he willing to risk everything to find her. There is a thrill per page as Clyde follows leads to the drug lord's hideout, and on the way the reader finds out about the family dynamics and why he is so desperate to find Jen.
The action is relentless, the violence breathtaking and the characters interesting.
This is one for readers who like thrillers with loner main characters.
Pat Pledger

Archived Blog Entries