Review Blog

Dec 09 2015

Wolf by Wolf Ryan Graudin

cover image

Wolf by Wolf duology, bk 1. Hachette, 2015. ISBN 9781780622026
Recommended for 14 years olds and above. It's 1956 and has been 10 years since the Third Reich and Imperial Japan won the war, seventeen year old Yael who escaped the Nazi death camp, is about to undertake her first mission, the one she has been trained the last 3 years for, to kill Hitler. Yael, a survivor of painful human experimentation who has the power to change her appearance into anyone she chooses, must complete her mission by entering the Axis Tour: an annual motorcycle race across the world from Berlin to Tokyo impersonating last year's only female victor, Adele Wolfe. With her mind totally focused on the race she doesn't need the distraction of Adele's twin brother Felix and Adele's former love interest Luka both entering the competition. She must decide whether these two can become allies or enemies.
I was so not excited to read this book - it was a case of judging the book by its cover, however before long I was well into the third chapter and really enjoying it!! The story is written in the past and the now but easy to follow the timeline of the plot. It is fast paced with many 'edge of your seat' moments. The characters all had so much depth to them including the other racers who didn't become faceless competitors. I really loved her relationships with both Felix and Lowe and even the interactions between themselves. And I really loved the twist at the end!!!! I can't wait to see how the sequel will turn out. Recommended for fans of The Hunger Games, Valkyrie, The Scorpio Races, The Maze Runner, Code Name Verity and X-Men.
Jody Holmes

BUY IT NOW ON booktopia
Archived Blog Entries
Latest News
International Children's Book Day 2nd April, 2017
CILIP Kate Greenaway Medals 2017 longlist
CILIP Carnegie Medal longlist 2017
Branford Boase Award 2017 longlist
Children's Book Award 2017 shortlist
Infographic: Teen reading habits
Victorian Premier's Literary Awards 2017
Newbery and Caldecott Medals 2017
ALA awards 2017
Costa Children's Book Award 2016
National Simultaneous Storytime 2017

ReadPlus Features
Print similar authors bookmark
Read similar authors
How to find lesson plans
Sample theme animation

Promote Reading
Staff holiday reading list 2016
South Australian Christian Schools Conference 2016 - Library Displays
Display calendars
Science fiction and fantasy lists SAETA conference 2015
Value of School Libraries
Library, Reading development and the Internet
Free Rights of the Reader Poster
Reviews: Author index
Books for boys
Bookmark and poster templates