Review Blog

Jun 28 2015

Extraordinary means by Robyn Schneider

cover image

Simon & Schuster, 2015. ISBN 9781471115486
(Age: 13+) Recommended. Seventeen year old Lane has been sent to Latham House, a boarding school for sick teens with total drug resistant tuberculosis. His old life is four hundred miles away with his car, his dog and his girlfriend. He can't believe that his life has come to this. When he meets Sadie, a familiar face whom he recognises from summer camp, he realises that life might not be as bad as it first seems. A week of hard studying for college entry and the break up with his girlfriend has made his symptoms become worse. Then one night after talking to Sadie in the gazebo things slowly begin to change. He is accepted into their eccentric group and for the first time he starts to live his life.
A heart-wrenching story about love, bullying, strong relationships and second chances. Fans of John Green, Stephen Chbosky and Rainbow Rowell's Eleanor and Park, will enjoy how Robyn Schneider has presented the characters and the theme of this book. The character's dry sense of humour is appropriately written and makes the other characters' charms more attractive. I loved the simplicity of Sadie's character which made her more real and accessible. Lane's character is more complex, an overachiever and socially awkward at first, but as their relationship grows his personality becomes more relaxed and likable.
This is Schneider's second book and I can't wait to read her other book The beginning of everything. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would recommend it to young adults and any one above.
Jody Holmes

BUY IT NOW ON booktopia
Archived Blog Entries
Latest News
International Children's Book Day 2nd April, 2017
CILIP Kate Greenaway Medals 2017 longlist
CILIP Carnegie Medal longlist 2017
Branford Boase Award 2017 longlist
Children's Book Award 2017 shortlist
Infographic: Teen reading habits
Victorian Premier's Literary Awards 2017
Newbery and Caldecott Medals 2017
ALA awards 2017
Costa Children's Book Award 2016
National Simultaneous Storytime 2017

ReadPlus Features
Print similar authors bookmark
Read similar authors
How to find lesson plans
Sample theme animation

Promote Reading
Staff holiday reading list 2016
South Australian Christian Schools Conference 2016 - Library Displays
Display calendars
Science fiction and fantasy lists SAETA conference 2015
Value of School Libraries
Library, Reading development and the Internet
Free Rights of the Reader Poster
Reviews: Author index
Books for boys
Bookmark and poster templates