Review Blog

May 31 2009

Zig Zags series

cover image

Pearson Education, 2009.
(Ages: 6-8) Books in the series include The Thirsty Moose, Open Wide, Dinosaur Planet, Tall Tilly and The Clumsy Cow, Betty Betty's Spell
These latest additions to the Zig Zags series are sure to engage and interest young children. Suitable for newly independent readers aged between six and eight, they are also perfect for shared reading experiences with an adult.
Each book contains fewer than 150 words. The bright and attractive illustrations give good contextual clues for young readers and are visually engaging.
Each book builds a simple storyline through to a satisfying conclusion. The characters are likeable and believable. The themes of overcoming fear or insecurities and beating bullies are developed with humour and compassion, with the series deftly avoiding a lecturing tone.
This is a versatile series. The language level makes them suitable for class reader boxes while their themes of family life, growth and change, and discovering new horizons make them valuable additions to a thematic library.
Rachel Flenley

Archived Blog Entries
Latest News
2017 Children's Peace Literature Award Short List
Inkys Awards 2017
2017 Miles Franklin Literary Award
2017 NSW Premier's History Awards
The Queensland Literary Awards 2017
CBCA Awards 2017 winners
Environment Award for Children's Literature 2017
Speech Pathology shortlist 2017
2017 CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals
2017 Branford Boase Award
2017 UKLA Book Awards

ReadPlus Features
Print similar authors bookmark
Read similar authors
How to find lesson plans
Sample theme animation

Promote Reading
Staff holiday reading list 2016
South Australian Christian Schools Conference 2016 - Library Displays
Display calendars
Value of School Libraries
Library, Reading development and the Internet
Free Rights of the Reader Poster
Reviews: Author index
Bookmark and poster templates