Review Blog

Sep 26 2011

Star League Series by H. J. Harper

cover image

Random House Australia, 2011.
Robot Reboot (Book 6), Box Office Smash (Book 7), The Final Cut (Book 8).
(Age 8 - 12 years) These 3 books continue the story of 6 young characters that all possess a different superpower. As The Star League they battle evil, especially their arch enemy Professor Pestilence. The leader of the group is Jay who is a movie star in his daily life. In each chapter a different character from the group tells a part of the story, this includes Connor a werewolf, Asuka a Ninja, Roger a zombie, S.A.M. a robot, Leigh an animancer and of course Jay. There are black and white illustrations throughout the book that add to the understanding of the story.
Robot Reboot, concentrates on the character S.A.M. the robot, Box Office Smash introduces the Shadow Six, 6 evil kids with superpowers, while The Final Cut reveals information about Jay's long lost parents.
These quick reads are full of excitement and action and will appeal to 8 to 10 year olds and older reluctant readers.
Jane Moore

Archived Blog Entries
Latest News
2017 Children's Peace Literature Award Short List
Inkys Awards 2017
2017 Miles Franklin Literary Award
2017 NSW Premier's History Awards
The Queensland Literary Awards 2017
CBCA Awards 2017 winners
Environment Award for Children's Literature 2017
Speech Pathology shortlist 2017
2017 CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals
2017 Branford Boase Award
2017 UKLA Book Awards

ReadPlus Features
Print similar authors bookmark
Read similar authors
How to find lesson plans
Sample theme animation

Promote Reading
Staff holiday reading list 2016
South Australian Christian Schools Conference 2016 - Library Displays
Display calendars
Value of School Libraries
Library, Reading development and the Internet
Free Rights of the Reader Poster
Reviews: Author index
Bookmark and poster templates