Review Blog

Sep 16 2010

Mythical creatures series

cover image

Raintree, 2010.
The series of books in the Mythical Creatures series introduce the reader to mythical creatures from cultures around the world. They include books about vampires, dragons, fairies, mermaids, unicorns, vampires and werewolves. Each book has a clear well constructed Table of Contents. The individual book then outlines what a mythical creature is, gives a definition of the individual mythical creature and then examines where the stories about them have come from, looks at reality versus myth and contains a glossary, links to sites and books and a good index.
The print is big and clear to read, and the writing engages the reader by asking questions and giving interesting facts. Pronunciations of difficult words are given. Illustrations are bright and bold, and include photographs of real places and things as well as pictures of what the artist's imagination comes up with.
This is a series that should appeal to young readers. The books about vampires and werewolves give factual information about the origins of these myths and are not too gory for middle to upper primary age group that the series appears to be aimed at.
Titles include:
Read Me!: Dragons By Charlotte Guillain ISBN: 978 1 40621 643 1
Read Me!: Fairies By Charlotte Guillain ISBN: 978 1 40621 644 8
Read Me!: Mermaids By Charlotte Guillain ISBN: 978 1 40621 645 5
Read Me!: Unicorns By Abby Colich ISBN: 978 1 40621 648 6
Read Me!: Vampires By Charlotte Guillain ISBN: 978 1 40621 646 2
Read Me!: Werewolves by Rebecca Rissman ISBN: 978 1 40621 647 9
Pat Pledger

BUY IT NOW ON booktopia
Archived Blog Entries
Latest News
CBCA shortlists 2017
2017 ABIA longlist
The Stella Prize shortlist for 2017
YA Book Prize 2017 shortlist
Reading Children's book prize shortlist
Indie Book Awards 2017
CILIP Carnegie Medal 2017 shortlist
CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal 2017 shortlist
School Library Association Information Book Award 2017
2017 UKLA Book Awards shortlists
National Simultaneous Storytime 2017

ReadPlus Features
Print similar authors bookmark
Read similar authors
How to find lesson plans
Sample theme animation

Promote Reading
Staff holiday reading list 2016
South Australian Christian Schools Conference 2016 - Library Displays
Display calendars
Science fiction and fantasy lists SAETA conference 2015
Value of School Libraries
Library, Reading development and the Internet
Free Rights of the Reader Poster
Reviews: Author index
Books for boys
Bookmark and poster templates