Review Blog

Jan 20 2014

The lost sun by Tessa Gratton

cover image

United States of Asgard, book 1. Random House, 2013. ISBN 9780307977465.
(Age: 14+) Recommended. Norse mythology. Fantasy. In the United States of Asgard, ruled by Norse gods, 17 year old Soren is fighting his berserker nature. His father had lost control of himself, going berserk in a shopping mall and killing innocent people. He feels the battle- frenzy and fever of the berserker, but tries to remain calm. Isolated at Sanctus Sigurd's Academy he is amazed when the popular Astrid Glyn, daughter of a famed seeress, tells him that she dreams of him. When Baldur, son of Odin, fails to bring back the sun and goes missing, Soren joins Astrid on a road trip across the States to find him. Together they trace the missing god and find their own powers and destiny.
This is an intelligent, beautifully crafted story based on the idea that there is an alternative United States, a country governed not only by the President, but by the gods. Gratton intertwines Norse mythology and the fates of Soren and Astrid throughout the book in such a way that the reader, even one unfamiliar with Norse legends, is able to gain an understanding of the gods and how they operate. The road trip across the United States of Asgard is a thrilling one.
What works exceptionally well is the struggle that Soren and Astrid have with their feelings for each other and what fate and the gods have determined for them. Soren is determined to fight his berserker nature, while Astrid has to come to terms with the visions that she sees. It was engrossing to follow Soren's story and to imagine what it would have been like to be a berserker and to fear loss of control and killing innocents. The themes of fatalism, faith, honour and loyalty are explored in a sensitive, thought provoking way.
This was a compulsive read, which is much more thoughtful and complex than many young adult novels. Fans of Neil Gaiman and Holly Black will welcome The lost sun, and teens who liked the Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan could well enjoy this too.
Pat Pledger

BUY IT NOW ON booktopia
Archived Blog Entries
Latest News
Indie Book Awards 2017
CILIP Carnegie Medal 2017 shortlist
CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal 2017 shortlist
School Library Association Information Book Award 2017
2017 UKLA Book Awards shortlists
International Children's Book Day 2nd April, 2017
Branford Boase Award 2017 longlist
Children's Book Award 2017 shortlist
Infographic: Teen reading habits
Victorian Premier's Literary Awards 2017
National Simultaneous Storytime 2017

ReadPlus Features
Print similar authors bookmark
Read similar authors
How to find lesson plans
Sample theme animation

Promote Reading
Staff holiday reading list 2016
South Australian Christian Schools Conference 2016 - Library Displays
Display calendars
Science fiction and fantasy lists SAETA conference 2015
Value of School Libraries
Library, Reading development and the Internet
Free Rights of the Reader Poster
Reviews: Author index
Books for boys
Bookmark and poster templates